anantakasainlife

creating boundless space in our lives

The flow of life

Leave a comment

The flow of life is everywhere. We see it  in the rustling of the leaves on a cool summer evening. We experience it when we feel raindrops touch our skin. We notice it when we see a butterfly dart from flower to flower. Even when something seems calm on the surface, underneath it life is continuing to unfold in its undisturbed pattern.

I was reminded of this when I recently went helmet diving off Boracay Island in the Philippines. It was my first time to go to the bottom of the sea with only a helmet attached to my head for breathing. Since I can barely swim, this was a big step for me. As I went down the steps of the boat, I was a little apprehensive. My mind started to conjure a variety of things that could go wrong. What if I missed a step and lost my helmet? Will I drown then? What if there were sharks? But then I remembered that life has always cared for me and will continue to do so. Besides, there were divers all around who would take care of me in case I needed help. They wouldn’t let me go down to the sea floor if it was unsafe. So I relaxed and continued climbing down until my feet touched the sand. I looked around and was amazed at the beauty and stillness that surrounded me. The water was bluish green and was a perfect background to the creatures that were floating by. Fishes of different sizes and colors were swimming all around me. There were sea urchins here and there.  I was given some food to feed the fish so they came to me and I was able to touch them. I was also conscious of the silence around me, which made me appreciate the experience even more.  I stood there in awe and marvelled at this wonderful spectacle that was not visible to me until I took the courage to see and experience it. How many times have I missed opportunities like these because I was preoccupied with other things?

This was my satori, my moment of enlightenment. I  came to realize that life is unfolding before my eyes every minute. All I have to do is open my eyes and experience it without the baggage of thinking. When I go with the flow of life, I experience life to its fullest!

Author: anantakasainlife

Influenced by the teachings of Jesus Christ, the Buddha, Eckhart Tolle, Swami Parthasarathy, Anthony De Mello, Joseph Murphy and my brother.

Leave a Reply

